BLAENAVON Town Council celebrated the achievements of residents with an awards night earlier this month at the Workmen’s Hall.

Town mayor Gareth Davies said: “The culture of service and volunteering in Blaenavon is rightly celebrated, with more than 24 scrolls of honour being awarded reflecting their commitment, service and achievement.”

The overcoming adversity scroll went to Alex Jones, who gives pastoral support to others.

Youth awards went to Teoni Mason, ten, who swims for Blaenavon Barracudas, and Cattie Langford, ten, for achievement in tae kwon do.

Cattie, who trains five times a week, said: “I was very excited to get a scroll and I’m very proud of it.”

A scroll for outstanding achievement went to Brian and Pauline Whitcombe for dedication to Blaenavon Council of Churches.

Also receiving scrolls were Margaret Brankley, who has been playing with Blaenavon Town Band for 61 years, and Daryl Preece, 62,who has played with them for 51 years.

Philip Norgate was awarded a scroll for obtaining a university scholarship, winning championships in 800 metres and representing Wales in the Commonwealth Games in Brisbane.

Scrolls went to Norman James, an amateur snooker player who became a World Champion, Jessica Whiting, for gaining a place at Oxford University to study medicine, and Lewis Evans, for becoming a Fellow of the Royal Society for Public Health.

Scrolls for outstanding service to the community went to Christine Winstone, who volunteers at Blaenavon Workmen’s Hall, and Rita Sweetzer ,who has given more than 20 years’ service to Blaenavon Townswomen’s Guild.

John Harris received a scroll for his dedication to the local history group and Phyllis Roberts, 89, was recognised for involvement with the Over-50s Forum and the Blaenavon branch of the Labour Party.

Also receiving scrolls were Gladys Pask, who taught dancing for 20 years, and Blanche Rowles, 79, for 50 years of volunteering.

Ms Rowles said: “I enjoy getting involved in any projects in the town.”

Tom Watkins received a scroll for teaching dancing, Adrian Freeman, for his commitment to Blaenavon Bowls Club and Elizabeth Thomas, for dedication to Zion Baptist Chapel at Forgeside.

Mrs Thomas, 66, said: “It has been my church since attending Sunday school as a child and members muck in to keep it running.”

Scrolls were presented to Richard Jones for involvement with Blaenavon RFC for 30 years, Warren Perks, who has served as treasurer of Blaenavon Darts League for 29 years, and Jeff White, the secretary of Blaenavon Darts League and chairman of Blaenavon Cribbage League.

Blaenavon Town Band members Sarah Weaver, Joanne Corcoran, and Joanne Knight were rewarded for lengthy dedication to the band.

Paul Philpot, the secretary of Blaenavon Cribbage League for 20 years, also received a scroll.