LEWIS Evans has followed in the footsteps of two back row icons after being voted as your Argus Dragon of the Year for 2013/14.

The 26-year-old has become the third back rower to win the trophy and his name has been engraved beneath those of former Wales captain Colin Charvis (2006/7) and all-action number eight Joe Bearman (2007/8 and 2008/9).

Evans topped the poll after a hugely impressive campaign that his boss, director of rugby Lyn Jones, believes has put him in the frame for international honours.

He has started in all of the region's RaboDirect Pro12 fixtures, missed just one frontline game (against Bath at home) and has stood tall whether in the 6, 7 or 8 jersey.

Evans, who made his Dragons debut in 2006, is a worthy winner and is delighted to be mentioned in the same breath as his former teammates Charvis and Bearman.

"It's nice to see my name beneath them," he said. "I played alongside them both and they have helped me get to where I am now.

"They were both quality players for the Dragons and had that X factor. I have tried to emulate them over the last couple of years but injury has hampered me.

"I've been lucky enough to string together a lot of starts this season and I have enjoyed it; I'm really happy to have made so many appearances in what is a really competitive back row."

While Evans has had a super season, it has been a mixed campaign for the Dragons.

They have slipped down the Pro12 table because of a shocking 2014 but the flanker believes the signs are promising for 2014/15.

"Things have tailed off a bit but it's been an improvement on last season," said Evans, who starts at blindside in the finale against Treviso.

"We have done a lot of building for next year and there is a long-term plan in place; things are not going to improve overnight.

"The new players will really add to the squad, not just in terms of the quality that they bring but their winning mentality to help us get over the line in tight games."

Previous Argus Dragon of the year winners

  • 2006/07 Colin Charvis
  • 2007/08 Joe Bearman
  • 2008/09 Joe Bearman
  • 2009/10 Ashley Smith
  • 2010/11 Adam Hughes
  • 2011/12 Robert Sidoli
  • 2012/13 Jonathan Evans