CHARLIE Davies returns to the Dragons’ starting line-up for their Guinness PRO14 clash at Zebre tomorrow afternoon (kick-off 4pm).

The scrum-half swaps places with Owain Leonard at the Stadio Fattori after the 20-year-old wore 9 on his back in the 29-27 defeat to Benetton in Treviso last weekend.

Davies, who is out of contract at the end of the season, added energy from the bench and is rewarded with a first start since the defeat to Edinburgh in Ebbw Vale in February.

Head coach Bernard Jackman is forced into two changes up front with Rynard Landman moving to blindside for Harri Keddie (head) and Joe Davies coming in at lock while Neath-bound Luke Garrett gets the nod as replacement for Gerard Ellis (knee).

Wales Under-20s internationals Josh Reynolds, Max Williams and Joe Goodchild come into the matchday squad as cover for loosehead, lock/back row and the back three.

The Zebre side is captained by influential lock George Biagi and features eight players that featured for Italy against Wales in the Six Nations in Cardiff - livewire full-back Matteo Minozzi, centres Giulio Bisegni and Tommaso Castello, wing Mattia Bellini, fly-half Carlo Canna, scrum-halves Marcello Violi and Guglielmo Palazzani and prop Andrea Lovotti.

The last six meetings between the sides have been won by the hosts with Zebre winning with four-try bonuses in Parma in 2016 and 2017.

The Dragons won 14-13 at Zebre in February, 2013 thanks to a try by flanker Jevon Groves and nine points from the boot of fly-half Steffan Jones and the spoils were shared after a 25-25 draw the following season thanks to a late score by Groves and Jason Tovey’s conversion.

Jackman’s side have just the Southern Kings beneath them in Conference B but can still overhaul the tally of their Italian hosts, who prop up Conference A.

Zebre: M Minozzi, M Bellini, G Bisegni, T Castello, G Venditti, C Canna, M Violi, A Lovotti, L Luus, E Bello, L Krumov, G Biagi (captain), J Sarto, J Meyer, D Sisi. Replacements: T D'Apice, C Ah-Nau, R Tenga, V Bernarbo, A De Marchi, G Palazzani, S Bordoli, G Di Guilio

Dragons: Z Kirchner, A Hewitt, S Beard, C Edwards, J Rosser, A Robson, C Davies, L Garrett, E Dee, L Fairbrother, J Davies, C Hill (captain), R Landman, A Wainwright, L Evans. Replacements: L Belcher, J Reynolds, D Suter, M Williams, T Basham, O Leonard, A Warren, J Goodchild

Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)