FIVE Dragons have been selected in the Wales squad for the World Rugby U20 Championship opener against Australia this evening (kick-off 8pm), writes Chris Kirwan.

Wing Rio Dyer, lock Max Williams and number eight Taine Basham start in Beziers while flanker Lennon Greggains and speedster Joe Goodchild are on the bench.

Chepstow's Will Davies-King, a prop with Cardiff Blues, is also among the replacements.

Wales need to get off to a flying start in a solid Pool A that pits them against New Zealand on Sunday before finishing the group stages against Japan.

Head coach Geraint Lewis hopes competition for places will lead to a big display against the Aussies.

"Selection has been very difficult, with the entire squad working hard and putting in lots of preparation for the World Rugby U20 Championship," said the ex-flanker, who has taken the reins from Jason Strange.

"Competition for places is strong, but we've gone with the team which we feel is best suited to the challenge presented to us by Australia.

"It's quite an experienced team, with some players having enjoyed exposure to the Guinness PRO14 this year.

"Due to our approach during the Six Nations in giving opportunities to the entire squad, we've got a strong nucleus of players who are adept and happy at U20 level. Hopefully those experiences can hold them in good stead.

"Australia are a formidable rugby nation that always produce talented players.

"With the limited footage we've seen of them, we know they're a big side, and from last year we're aware that they present a real challenge with ball in hand."

Wales U20: Cai Evans (Ospreys), Rio Dyer (Dragons), Corey Baldwin (Scarlets), Ioan Nicholas (Scarlets), Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets), Ben Jones (Cardiff Blues), Dane Blacker (Cardiff Blues), Rhys Carre (Cardiff Blues), Iestyn Harris (Cardiff Blues), Rhys Henry (Ospreys), Rhys Davies (Bath), Max Williams (Dragons), Tommy Reffell (captain, Leicester), Dan Davis (Scarlets), Taine Basham (Dragons).

Reps: Dewi Lake (Ospreys), Rhys Davies (Scarlets), Will Davies-King (Cardiff Blues), Lewis Ellis-Jones (Scarlets), Lennon Greggains (Dragons), Harri Morgan (Ospreys), Ben Thomas (Cardiff Blues), Joe Goodchild (Dragons)