SOUTH Africa have named seven debutants and a new captain for Saturday's Test against Wales in Washington.

Lock Pieter-Steph du Toit will skipper the Springboks for the first time at RFK Stadium (kick-off 10pm) while wings Travis Ismaiel and Makazole Mapimpi, centre Andre Esterhuizen, scrum-half Ivan van Zyl, flanker Kwagga Smith, lock Jason Jenkins and prop Ox Nche will make international bows.

Six more Test novices are among the replacements – hooker Akker van der Merwe, prop Thomas du Toit, lock Marvin Orie, flanker Sikhumbuzo Notshe, scrum-half Embrose Papier and fly-half Robert du Preez.

The clash is outside World Rugby's Test window, meaning a green Boks line-up featuring just eight survivors (du Toit, centre Jesse Kriel, fly-half Elton Jantjies, prop Wilco Louw, number eight Dan du Preez and flanker Oupa Mohoje in the XV plus wing Warrick Gelant and prop Steven Kitshoff on the bench) from the autumn 24-22 loss to Wales in Cardiff.

Coach Rassie Erasmus is able to call on just six players who boast a tally of caps in double figures for the clash – du Toit, Kriel, Jantjies, Mohoje, hooker Chiliboy Ralepelle and Kitshoff.

Nonetheless, the former Munster boss believes the Springboks can still beat Wales for the first time since the World Cup quarter-final at Twickenham in 2015.

"As coaches, we are tremendously excited about the prospect of seeing some of our best young players getting the opportunity to play at this level," said Erasmus.

"Wales have a very solid and effective kicking strategy and their cohesive forward and set-piece play are some of their main strong points.

"However, I do believe that we have picked a match-day squad that will be able to compete very strongly."

South Africa: Curwin Bosch (Sharks); Travis Ismaiel (Bulls), Jesse Kriel (Bulls), Andre Esterhuizen (Sharks), Makazole Mapimpi (Sharks); Elton Jantjies (Lions), Ivan van Zyl (Bulls); Ox Nche (Cheetahs), Chiliboy Ralepelle (Sharks), Wilco Louw (Stormers), Jason Jenkins (Bulls), Pieter-Steph du Toit (captain, Stormers), Kwagga Smith (Lions), Oupa Mohoje (Cheetahs), Dan du Preez (Sharks).

Replacements: Akker van der Merwe (Sharks), Steven Kitshoff (Stormers), Thomas du Toit (Sharks,), Marvin Orie (Lions), Sikhumbuzo Notshe (Stormers), Embrose Papier (Bulls), Robert du Preez (Sharks), Warrick Gelant (Bulls).