THE fundraising clash for ex-Wales hooker Ken Waters at Rodney Parade has been pushed back to Friday to protect the pitch for Newport County’s play-off clash.

A match between a Ken Waters XV and Monmouthshire was scheduled to be played at the ground on Wednesday evening, with an age-grade tag tournament before it.

However, the Exiles’ late charge to the League Two play-offs has led to the friendly clash being shifted back two days.

Michael Flynn’s men host Mansfield on Thursday night and Rodney Parade will need to be prepared – and the pitch protected – for the crucial first leg tussle.

Free Press Series: PLAY-OFF PUSH: Michael Flynn and Newport County play at Rodney Parade on ThursdayPLAY-OFF PUSH: Michael Flynn and Newport County play at Rodney Parade on Thursday

The fundraiser will be played on Friday (kick-off 7.15pm) with players from the five teams Waters represented – Newbridge, Cwmbran, Abergavenny, Risca and Caerleon – taking on a Monmouthshire side made up of players from 18 District A clubs.

The clash will raise money and awareness for motor neurone disease charities after the former Wales front row forward, who won a cap against Western Samoa in the 1991 World Cup, was diagnosed with the illness in 2017.

Monmouthshire County squad: Dan Preece, Evan Whitson, Garin Harris, Andrew Mann, Matthew Reed, Jonny Morris (Newport), Joel Harris, Morgan Davies, Sam Ireland, Luke Shaw (Ebbw Vale), Richard Powell (Merthyr), Stef Morgan, Pat James, Kristian Hawkes (Newport Saracens), Callum Rowland (Bettws), Adam Lane, Tomos Tippa (Brynmawr), Adam Stratton, Liam Thomas (Pontypool United), Jamie Noble (Blaenavon), Amose Nova (Monmouth), Ben Murphy (Risca), Alex Davies, Carl Hone (Llanhilleth), Nathan Byrne (Abergavenny), Casey Roomus (West Mon), Pat Higgins, Brian Feeney (Abercarn) , Leigh Sweet (Trinant), Stephen Drummond (Croesyceiliog), Jordan Reames, Ryan Bevan (Nantyglo), AN Other (Pontypool)

Kenny Waters XV: Chris Davies, Anthony Isgrove, Mathew Jeffries, Mathew Davies, Sam Withers (Newbridge), Pat Knight, Morgan West, Dominic Callaghan, James Richardson, Greg Delaney, Liam Couch, Loui O’Brien (Caerleon), Micki Witts, Kurt Mason, Charles Coia, Ian Hayes (Cwmbran) Mark Tetley, Owain Biddescombe, Lewis Tovey, Rhys Norville, Callum Caughlin (Risca), Gareth Williams, Mathew Collins, Joe Symonds, Gareth Beavan, Mathew Sevenoaks (Abergavenny), Jason Williams (former team mate & Risca Vets)