PONTNEWYNYDD held on to top spot in Division One of the Thomas, Carroll Welsh Club Cricket Conference with a comfortable victory at Pencoed.

Batting first, Pontnewynydd amassed 264-7 with Joe Matthews getting a magnificent 146, Hywel Evans 33 and Alex Barry 26. Rhys Morgan took 3-65 off 10 overs for Pencoed and Jason Owens 2-52 from eight.

Dafan Sutramaniem made 52 for Pencoed but Gareth Jones took 3-39 off 10 overs, Adam Dabbs 2-23 off eight and Rhodri Jones 2-47 from nine to get them all out for 163.

Neighbours Pentwyn are in second place after they beat Barry Wanderers with something to spare.

The Wanderers could only manage 136-9 with Jonny Hill getting 31 and Peter Coleman 24 as Carwyn Owen returned 10-3-25-4 and Lee Courtney 10-1-41-3.

Gavin White blasted two sixes and 10 fours in his 63 not out when Pentwyn wen t in and captain Mark White hit a six and five fours in 30 not out to see Pentwyn home. Aled Hughes took 10-2-28-2 for the Wanderers.

Cross Keys had first knock at home to Cardiff III and reached 198-7 with Mark Baker getting 74, Steve Gregory 52 and Graham Davey 31. Dave Deardon took 3-30 for Cardiff III and Alex Boorman 2-31.

Cardiff III chased it down to win by five wickets with Umar Malik making 55, Usman Qasi 53 and Steve Wall 48. Davey took 4-46 for Keys.

St Fagans III beat Abercynon and Simon Pember scored 84 as did Rhys Weekes as Hopkinstown scored 284-5 against Abercarn who were then dismissed for 99 with Gareth Morgan getting 4-20.

Mark Seymour scored a brilliant 124 and Gareth Price 46 as Abertillery reached 252 all out at home to Welsh Asians III in Division Two.

Faiz Ali then took 3-26 as the Asians replied with 208-7.

Ian Pembrey scored 50 in Tredegar’s 173-9 at home to Penarth III but the visitors took the spoils by seven wickets.

Upper Rhondda made 177 all out going in first against visitors Llanarth with Leon Jacka making 45 and Kyle Phillips 40. Mark Baxter took 2-9 for Llanarth and Chris Powell 2-33.

Naxter then scored 32 and Dave Nowell 42 but Llanarth came up 13 runs short as Phillips took 3-26 and Jacka 2-29.

Division Three third placed Cefn Fforest/Maesycwmmer came a cropper at Barry Wanderers II who went in first and reached 196-5.

Tom Ridgewell got 41 and Damian Davies 39 while Laurie Pritchard took 2-33 for the visitors and David Morgan 2-47.

John Ball made 38 and Steve Moore 35 but Cefn Fforest/Maesycwmmer were dismissed for 155. Luke Denning had 4-25 for the Wanderers and their David Morgan 4-31.

Cardiff Cobras’s bite proved too much for Ton Pentre and Mehtah Ali made a brilliant 129 to help Pontypridd III to a three wicket victory over Undy & Magor.

Chepstrow III switched their match against Blaengarw and the home side went in first and scored 96-9.

Captain Will Struthers made 75 and Ryan Dent 51 while Amit Kripilani had 10-2-31-4 for Chepstow III and Lewys Jones 2-29 off five overs. Jones then top scored with 20 as Chepstow III fell for 90 as Ellis James took 4-17 off seven overs and Dent 2-7 from four.

CoedEly CWCI had first knock against Newport III and managed 125 all out with Andrew Steadman scoring 30 and Andrew Hembrow 25.

Pravin De Silva took 10-3-21-4 for Newport III, Nathan Bailey 4.2-1-5-2 and Mervyn Vincent 8-0-31-2.

De Silva scored 49 when Newport III batted leaving Joe Thompson (36no) and Gabby Basketter (35no) to see them home by nine wickets.,

Mel Martin made 41 not out as Abercarn II reached 164-6 against Merthyr III in Division Four. Adam Walters took 3-10 for Merthyr III and then scored 65 to help Mike Jones (65) to get Merthyr III home by five wickets. Carl Hughes took 2-30 for Abercarn II

Abertillery II were bowled out for 129 at Bridgend Town III.with Josh Edwards making 31, Jeff Davies 22 and Dave Wilson 20. Matthew Davies had 3-22 for Bridgend Town III.

Clive Rees scored 46 and Carl Moruzzi 40 as Bridgend Town III won by six wickets.

Joe Thomas scored 82 and Keith Thomas 40 not out in the Christchurch total of 247-5 at home to Croesyceiliog III.

Tom Harris made 63 for Croesy III and Owen Price 31but they collapsed to 140-9.

Cynon Valley lost to Aberdare III in Division Five but Newport IV defeated Miskin Manor III by seven wickets.

Blaina II racked up 288-6 at Abercynon II with Josh Samuels getting a superb 110, Alan barber 50 not out and Steve Curtis 37.

Brandon Hill got 55 for Abercynon II, Owen Davies 22 and Jack Roberts 21 but they were bowled out for 176.

Andrew Palmer took 3-25, Gareth Paget 2-26 and Connor Meek 2-41.

Pentwyn II reached 154-7 at Panteg III with Ashley Paine getting 48 but Steve Griffiths then made 75 not out to see Panteg III home by two wickets.

Aberdare IV beat Christchurch II in Division Six and Crumlin II won at Radyr IV.

Jeff Coombs got 44 and Nick White 23 as Radyr IV reached 127 all out. Lee Parker took 2-1 and Andrew Gibbs 2-29.

Parker scored 31, Gibbs 26 and Chris Gibbs 24 to ease Crumlin II home by three wickets. John Griffiths took 2-9 for Radyr IV and Peter Scott 2-19.

Kris Hames cracked a superb 112 not out and Tom Addiscott got 56 as Cynon Valley scored 237-5 at home to Cross Keys II in Divsision Seven. Keys slumped to 70 all out in their innings with Nick Harman taking 5-15.

Monkskwood III lost to St Fagans IV by 124 runs and Pencoed II won by seven wickets at Whitchurch Heath IV.

Panteg IV managed just 107-6 at Cefn Fforest/Maesycwmmer II in Division Eight with Michael Mee making 26 and 15-year-old Alex Lewis taking 3-32 from 10 overs.

Ashley Edwards (46no) and Tom O’Connor (22) then led Cefn Fforest?Maesycwmmer II to a seven wicket win.

Newbridge III switched their game to Lisvane V and managed 139-3 batting first. Opener Jordan Harman made 49 not out and Raj Reebey took 10-4-10-4 for Lisvane V.

Lisvane V almost made it but Newbridge III got them out nine runs short. Sudesh scored 51 and John Lloyd 23.