THIS photo shows the extraordinary structure, an iron viewing tower, built by Victorian ironmaster Richard Blakemore on top of the Little Doward.

The site was chosen by inhabitants of the valley in the Iron Age for a hillfort, affording a spectacular vantage point.

But when Blakemore bought Wyastone Leys in 1820 he had grand designs not just on the house but the surrounding landscape, and to create picturesque walks and carriage drives he demolished people’s cottages.

The 70 foot, six-sided iron observatory was the crowning glory. Visitors were allowed to climb the stairs that ran through the middle on Sunday evenings. Blakemore’s Folly, as it was called, was dismantled around 100 years ago.

More News

NOSTALGIA: The court where Chartists were tried

Tributes to Monmouth boy Samuel Barker who died in bus collision

Monmouthshire man completes 31 half marathons in as many days for homelessness charity