SUDBROOK won the Division One Championship of the Thomas, Carroll Glamorgan and Monmouthshire Cricket League with a week to spare when they defeated Abergavenny at the Deepweir.

The visitors won the toss and decided to bat first and reached 155-8 in their 50 overs with captain James Schofield scoring 41 and Greg Fury 39.

Only Alex Astley-Jones (14) and Will Ford (13) of the rest of their batsmen managed double figures.

The Sudbrook bowling figures were: Carl Morgan 10-0- 45-1, Nathan Thomas 7-1-31-0, Lewis Morgan 10-2-20-4, Jonathan Lewis 10-3-16-2, Rhys Pescod 10-1-28-0 and Jamie Watkins 3-0-12-1.

Ross Lewis and Matthew Kinchin opened with a stand of 39 before Kinchin went for 17.

Lewis and Lewis Morgan moved it on to 82, when Lewis was out for 23. Michael Martin joined Morgan and they took the score to 123 when Morgan was out for 47.

Martin (31no) and Jonathan Lewis (10no) then led Sudbrook to victory and the championship, while for Abergavenny, James Hrastelj had 8-1-26-2 and Dan Cooke 4- 0-24-1.

Miskin Manor won the Division Two Championship and also the Division Two Second XI Championship, which is a rare achievement, but even more rare was that both their teams went through the season without losing a league match. The title clincher was an easy seven wicket win at Barry.

Second-placed Welsh Asians didn’t have a game. Radyr closed the gap with a tenwicket win at Hoovers and the battle for the runners-up place goes down to this week.

Newbridge look like finishing in fourth place after they crushed Malpas at Bettws Lane. Batting first, Newbridge amassed 305-9 in their 50 overs with contributions from ex-Glamorgan allrounder Ryan Watkins (92), James Morgan (50) and Jonathan Wellington (31) .

Malpas’ Christian Rose took 9-0-49-4.

Malpas managed only 118 in their reply with Andy Ross (27) and Rose (13) the only batsmen to reach double figures as Watkins took 8-2-21-4 for Newbridge Croesyceiliog took a tumble against Vale at Corntown in a game reduced to 40 overs because of a late start.

Vale scored 157-4 with Ben Horton making 52 and Paul Shepherd 31 not out. For Croesy, Luke Kear took 2-34 off six overs.

Alex Kryjon (21) and Owen Worsfold (20) were the pick of the Croesy batsmen as they came up short on 134.

Tom Taylor took 4-24 off six overs for Vale.