DRAGONS prop Tom Devine and wing Deon Smith come into the starting line-up for Wales' World Rugby U20 Championship clash with Fiji but the tournament is over for their Rodney Parade teammate Aneurin Owen.

Centre Owen was forced off in the second minute of the opening clash with hosts Argentina after a horrible blow to the head when carrying in midfield.

The 18-year-old from Newport received lengthy treatment on the field but was able to walk off unassisted and the Ysgol Gyfun Gwynllyw student pupil was still able to sit maths and history A-level exams.

It had been hoped that Owen would be fit to feature in the two fixtures that follow the Pool A finale with Fiji but he has been withdrawn as a precaution with his place in the squad going to Cardiff Blues back row forward Ioan Rhys Davies.

After beating Argentina 30-25, Wales' semi-final hopes were ended by champions

France's powerful second-half display

last weekend when they stretched away from leading 10-8 at half-time to winning 32-13.

Free Press Series:

However, Gareth Williams' men need to finish the group stages with a flourish in Santa Fe (kick-off 5pm) to ensure that they feature in the fifth-to-eighth place play-offs rather than the bottom rung.

The head coach makes five changes with loosehead Devine and Bristol tighthead Nick English, who is from Caldicot, called into the front row.

Smith makes his first start after a pair of appearances off the bench, coming in for Ryan Conbeer, and Dragons scrum-half Dafydd Buckland (pictured above) stays in the XV after being called up for the ill Harri Morgan against Les Bleuets.

His half-back partner is Cai Evans with Wales opting for another playmaker at 12 in Leicester's Sam Costelow, normally a fly-half.

Dragons lock Ed Scragg drops back to the bench, Scarlets forward Morgan Jones replacing him, and he is joined as a replacement by Rodney Parade teammates Lennon Greggains and Rio Dyer.

The Fijians are back in the top-flight tournament for the first time in five years after winning the World U20 Trophy last year.

They are yet to get off the mark but are a dangerous side and posed problems for both France, when beaten 36-20, and Argentina, when downed 41-14.

"We have taken lessons from our defeat to France, but just as important has been the refreshing mindset the players have displayed since Saturday and we're all now looking forward to Fiji," said Williams.

"Fiji have played some excellent stuff this tournament, and have been a challenge early on for both France and Argentina.

"Therefore, returning to the focus of the first two games is key for us. We cannot lose sight that winning games has been a focus of ours coming to this World Cup and we have three more tough challenges to do that."

Free Press Series:

Strong-running Smith gets his chance as a replacement for livewire Conbeer and the 19-year-old from Pontypool wants to put his hand up for Monday's first play-off encounter.

"You're always happy to grab that starting jersey and now it's about getting out there and taking the opportunity to try and keep it," said Smith, who is yet to make his senior regional debut but scored against Russia in a friendly.

"We were disappointed as a squad with the result last week but France are a very good side, so a big focus has been to come back and get a good result against Fiji.

"It's a big game for us, we keep saying it's a five-game series and we can head back with four wins, which would be a fairly good result. It's up to us as players to put our heads down and deliver."

Wales U20s v Fiji: Ioan Davies (Cardiff Blues), Tomi Lewis (Scarlets), Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler (Ospreys), Sam Costelow (Leicester Tigers), Deon Smith (Dragons), Cai Evans (Ospreys), Dafydd Buckland (Dragons); Tom Devine (Dragons), Dewi Lake (captain – Ospreys), Nick English (Bristol Bears), Morgan Jones (Scarlets), Jac Price (Scarlets), Iestyn Rees (Scarlets), Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers), Jac Morgan (Aberavon/Scarlets).

Replacements: Will Griffiths (Dragons), Garin Lloyd (Ospreys), Rhys Davies (Ospreys), Kemsley Mathias (Scarlets), Ben Warren (Cardiff Blues). Ed Scragg (Dragons), Lennon Greggains (Dragons), Harri Morgan (Ospreys), Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets), Max Llewellyn (Cardiff Blues), Rio Dyer (Dragons)