LLECHRYD went down to a seven wicket defeat against Saundersfoot, to leave them bottom of the Pembrokeshire Cricket League division one and 19 points from safety.

There are nine games remaining for the Teifisiders to turn things around, and they need to put points on the board in the near future or they could be facing relegation.

But with an average age of 23, and five players under the age of 18 in last Saturday's team, they will feel that there is also plenty of cause for optimism for the future.

Llechryd were bowled out on the day for just 113, with all-rounder David Dunfee being their top scorer with a defiant knock of 36.

Joe Mansfield also made 30 and skipper John Curran got 21, but their colleagues went cheaply, as Nick Cope returned 4-24, Sam Franklin 3-39 and Tudor Hurle 2-15.

In the reply, Scott Holmes made 33, Tom Mansbridge 29, Sam Franklin 18 and was John Mansbridge 18no as the Seasiders got the runs for the loss of three wickets.

Special mention went to to Joe Dow, who at 15 years old took his first wickets with a return of 2-18, whilst David Dunfee (1-18) took the other wicket.

Despite another valiant effort by Llechryd Seconds to chase down a total of 174-5 by hosts Saundersfoot Seconds, the visitors failed by just 10 runs to gain victory in division four.

Stephen Cook contributed 37 for the Seasiders and Dominic Green in the middle order wielded the willow to good effect in making an undefeated 54, with eight fours.

Tom Beard had snapped 3-33 in the Teifisiders’ attack, and Richard Davies (1-32) also took a wicket.

In the Llechryd reply, skipper and opener Ollie Roberts and John Griffiths both made 30, while Peter Gregory (32) and Aled Bidder (29) also made useful contributions.

But the visitors ran out of overs and at the end of 40 were on 164 for 9. Tom Dominic Green took 2-22, Aryan Kawale 2-30 and Spencer Rourke 2-33 to restrict them.

Notably, Laurence Harris, Tom Harris and Jaap Harris made it three generations playing for the Llechryd Seconds' team.

In division five, Llechryd Thirds were all out for 129, before they lost by 4 wickets to Pembroke Seconds.

Rich Fletcher made 44, and Neil Croucher 27 for Llechryd, but key wickets fell to Rob Davies (2-14) and Arran O'Neill (2-16).

Pembroke Seconds reached 131 for 6, with contributions from Will Randall-Davidson (44) and Charlie Perkins (19).

Kelvin Holmes returned 2-25 and Matthew Cockwell, with a superb spell of bowling, returned 2-19.

Division One Results

Haverfordwest (91) lost to Carew (193-8) by 102 runs;

Lawrenny (224-4) beat Cresselly (222-9) by 6 wkts;

Llechryd (113) lost to Saundersfoot (114-3) by 7 wkts;

Narberth (154) lost to Neyland (155-6) by 4 wkts;

St Ishmaels (136-6) beat Whitland (134) by 4 wkts.

Division Four Results

Crymych (112) lost to Carew III (120) by 8 runs;

Hook II (157) lost to Lawrenny II (183) by 26 runs;

Saundersfoot II (175-5) beat Llechryd II (164-9) by 11 runs;

Whitland II (154-8) lost to Llanrhian II (223-7) by 69 runs.

Division Five Results

Cresselly III (0) 0 Haverfordwest IV (0);

Hundleton (96) lost to Fishguard (98) by 2 runs;

Pembroke II (131-6) beat Llechryd III (129) by 4 wkts;

Stackpole II (0) ab v Herbrandston II (0);

Whitland III (159-8) lost to Neyland III (161-4) by 6 wkts.