NEWPORT County AFC midfielder Josh Sheehan has been named in the PFA League Two Team of the Year.

Sheehan becomes just the second Newport player, after defender Terry Boyle in 1986, to feature in a PFA team of the year.

Wales international Boyle was selected in the old Third Division – now League One – line-up alongside former Ireland striker Tony Cascarino, who was playing for Gillingham at the time.

Sheehan, 26, is the sole County representative in this season’s League Two XI, which is voted for by the players, although an ex-Newport man does feature in the team.

Sheehan’s inclusion comes after a difficult few days for the Swansea-born playmaker.

Having discovered on Sunday night that he wouldn’t be going to Euro 2020 with Wales, Sheehan then played in County’s play-off final defeat to Morecambe at Wembley.

He played a part in all bar three of the Exiles’ league fixtures this term, scoring three times and assisting on four occasions.

Sheehan also played every minute of the club’s FA Cup and Carabao Cup campaigns, as Michael Flynn’s men reached the third and fourth rounds of those competitions respectively.

His impressive performances in amber then saw him earn a call-up to the Wales squad, making his debut against the USA last year and earning a second cap in a clash with Mexico in March.

Players from promotion-winning sides Cheltenham Town, Cambridge United and Bolton Wanderers make up the bulk of the League Two team of the year.

Champions Cheltenham have former County midfielder Ben Tozer and William Boyle named in the XI, with Cambridge’s Kyle Knoyle, Wes Hoolahan and 34-goal Paul Mullin also in.

Defender Ricardo Santos and striker Eoin Doyle, who scored 19 goals, represent Bolton.

Salford City goalkeeper Vaclav Hladky, Matt Jay of Exeter City and Tranmere Rovers striker James Vaughan were also voted in.

Thirty-goal striker Jonson Clarke-Harris has been rewarded for a landmark season with Peterborough United by being named in the PFA League One Team of the Year.

The 26-year-old plundered 31 goals in 45 league appearances as Posh won automatic promotion to the Championship and has been recognised by his peers in the divisional team.

Sunderland striker Charlie Wyke, who scored 25 goals, is also named along with team-mate Aiden McGeady as the Black Cats were defeated play-off semi-finalists.

Champions Hull City, who returned to the second tier at the first time of asking, have four representatives, with Callum Elder, Lewie Coyle, George Honeyman and Mallik Wilks all getting voted in for excellent seasons.

Welsh goalkeeper Chris Maxwell, who captained Blackpool to play-off glory, is named in the team, with Lincoln City duo Lewis Montsma and Jorge Grant and Oxford United midfielder Rob Atkinson.

Meanwhile, champions Norwich City have six players in the PFA Championship team of the year.

Goalkeeper Tim Krul, defenders Max Aarons and Grant Hanley, playmaker Emiliano Buendia, Tottenham loanee Oliver Skipp and striker Teemu Pukki were all recognised by their peers and voted into the divisional team.

Brentford's maiden rise to the Premier League, which came via the play-offs, was arguably the story of the season and the Bees had three representatives in the side.

Striker Ivan Toney, whose 33 goals and 10 assists fired Thomas Frank's side to glory, centre-half Ethan Pinnock and left-back Rico Henry all feature after excellent seasons.

Blackburn Rovers striker Adam Armstrong was also recognised by his colleagues after a fine campaign, while Reading's French midfielder Michael Olise also got the nod.